Smokey and the Bandit

Why do I like Smokey and the Bandit so much? Maybe it’s the black Trans Am or maybe its wishing for a girl friend who looked like Sally Fields. It could be that I love laughing and the simplicity of the movie. The answer is yes, but there is more to it. Watching Smokey and the Bandit takes me back to a simpler time in my life. The high-tech world of citizen band radio, eight track tapes, cheap gas, and cars that you could actually work on and fix. I had one of those Cat Diesel caps that Cledus wore and a down vest too! When the movie was released in the summer of 1977 I was 16 and loving life, sitting in my 1973 Grand Prix and talking on the CB…saying “breaker 19” this here’s the Bottle Cap.

What was your CB handle?

Leave a Reply

